Thank you :)

Which topic/s in class made an impact to you? Why?

  • I will always remember one of the first classes we had where Sir told us that the applications of CS 130 are practically everywhere. As a person who is not really fond of doing math, those applications gave my a new perspective for mathematics. As for a “math” topic, I really enjoy transforming matrices into their Reduced Row Echelon Forms. I don’t know why I’m specifically fond of this but maybe because it just feels so satisfying once you get to have the final RREF matrix.

If you can summarize this course in one word or sentence, what would it be?

  • “A Paradigm Shift”

This class has gave me a new pair of eyes in the way I look at mathematics and a CS student. For mathematics, I’ve learned to appreciate it more by knowing how much mathematics is all around us. For UP students, I’ve further appreciated how each CS student has a different skillset. I’m amazed on how much each of us has a different skill to offer for this class, and I’m very thankful that this is a kind of class that is open for that. Even though I’ve always questioned on how much further I can survive in CS because I’m not really great in math but now I’ve learned to appreciate the skills that I’m good at even more and to use these skills in order to still do my part in this CS journey.

What would be your parting message to the class?

  • To everyone, congratulations for surviving this semester. It was difficult but our feats (no matter how small) are all moments of triumph that would remind us that we’ve made it and we we’ll make it again in the next stage. To Sir Paul, thank you for your passion and service for teaching and congrats for completing your thesis! We’re proud of you as you’ve believed are we’re proud of us first. Thank you 🙂
